Opinion

Editorials

Learning to Take a Graceful Bow

By Becky O’Malley
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 10:47:00 AM

June is a month of final acts: graduations, performances, recitals. We’ve gone to several recitals in the last two weeks and enjoyed every one. Nothing beats the sight of a bunch of fresh-faced kids polished until they shine and on their best behavior, enjoying themselves—albeit with a bit of tension—making music or dancing. And if the music sounds good, or if the dancing delights, that’s a plus, but it isn’t really about the product, it’s about the process. -more-


The Editor's Back Fence

Whose Party Is It Anyway?

By Becky O'Malley
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 11:30:00 AM

Now that the election's behind us, I finally had time to sort through my mail this morning. I pulled out all of the glossy color postcards from the big pile of junk, leaving behind twelve Land's End catalogs and several offers of free trips to Las Vegas to shop for condos. -more-


Cartoons

The Dream Ticket

By Justin DeFreitas
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 01:13:00 PM

Obama's First Lesson

By Justin DeFreitas
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 01:02:00 PM

Oil Weight

By Justin DeFreitas
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 01:03:00 PM

Public Comment

Letters to the Editor

Monday June 16, 2008 - 11:59:00 AM

Letters to the Editor

Thursday June 12, 2008 - 10:48:00 AM

JUNE 3 RESULTS -more-


Storm Drain Project Threatens Tidal Lagoons

By Mark Liolios
Tuesday June 17, 2008 - 03:59:00 PM

In the past decade, Berkeley’s Aquatic Park has been undergoing a striking renewal. Dreamland for Kids and the Addison Street bicycle/pedestrian bridge bring new life to the park, as do the community organizations that have established programs in park buildings. Habitat restoration along the bay shoreline has created new shelter for wildlife. However, these biologically rich tidal lagoons are at risk of repeated toxic contamination if the Berkeley City Council approves plans for a $2 million storm drain construction project. -more-


Dumbed Down Democrats

By Thomas Gangale
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 10:48:00 AM

One of my international relations instructors at San Francisco State knew the late Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan of Massachusetts, and characterized him as a raging alcoholic. OK, I’m Irish on my mother’s side, that goes with the territory. But, he also said that Moynihan was smarter dead drunk than most of his colleagues were sober. Would that we had more Democrats like him these days. -more-


Shining Stars of Activism Don’t Fade, But Ignite Next Generation of Activism

By Karen Pickett
Tuesday June 17, 2008 - 03:56:00 PM

June 12 marked the one-year anniversary that our friend and comrade Hal Carlstad left us. He was well known and is missed by a great many people in the Bay Area peace, environmental, social justice, anti-death penalty, Unitarian, and anti-nuclear communities. Hal was everywhere. I first met him in the mid-1980s through Earth First! activities. He said he liked Earth First! because it was “less talk, more action.” It is the rare individual who, literally, every time he blinks his eyes he is thinking not of himself, but rather about what he can do next to bring about change, to build a more compassionate and just world. Hal was that rare individual. -more-


Why Loni Hancock and Nancy Skinner Won Big

By Randy Shaw
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 10:49:00 AM

Pick up a copy of the Berkeley Daily Planet and you are almost certain to find a letters to editor/opinion page filled with complaints about Berkeley city government. While such reader feedback is not a scientific sample, it does show that there are many, many people dissatisfied with one or more aspects of Berkeley’s quality of life. -more-


A Tale of Two Cities

By Sharon Hudson
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 10:50:00 AM

Around noon on Friday, May 16, I waited at Telegraph Avenue and Dwight Way to board the new 1R bus (Rapid Bus) to San Leandro. My goal? To see for myself why AC Transit chose the Telegraph Avenue/International Boulevard route for Bus Rapid Transit (BRT). To do this, I would ride the BRT route to San Leandro, and several unfamiliar bus routes (Bancroft, MacArthur) back to Berkeley. -more-


KPFA’s Current Dialing for Dollars Plan Is At Odds with Pacifica’s Mission

By Richard Phelps
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 10:51:00 AM

EDITOR’S NOTE: This is the second part of a critique of KPFA’s current management’s “selling” and not playing public affairs. The first part appeared in the Daily Planet on May 22 and can be found at www.berkeleydailyplanet.com. -more-


ENRONed Again

By James Sayre
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 10:52:00 AM

We’re being ENRONed again: this time by oil futures contracts speculators who are unnecessarily and very profitably driving up the price of crude oil and hence retail gasoline prices. Curious as to why you are suddenly paying over four dollars a gallon for gasoline? No, it’s not due to “supply-and-demand,” no, it’s not due to “OPEC,” nor is it due to “peak oil.” It’s due to totally unregulated electronic oil futures trading in world markets. Check out the very lucid article that explains the unseen financial machinations in oil futures markets written by F. W. Engdahl on May 2, entitled, “Perhaps 60 Percent of Today’s Oil Price is Pure Speculation.” It may be viewed at www.financialsense.com/editorials/2008/0502.html. -more-


Message to Governor: State Needs More Revenue

By Sam Frankel
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 10:52:00 AM

I was at a meeting the a few weeks ago at the local high school. It had been called by the president of the Parent Teacher Student Association (PTSA), as a city-wide PTA meeting. One of the parents who attended has a son in elementary school, and this afternoon had been his very first little league game. His mom left before the game was over to attend this meeting. Parents should not need to make decisions between watching their children play ball and working to secure adequate funding for our schools, yet that is exactly what this mother had to do. Her choice was to work for better funding for education, reasoning that there will be other games to watch, and only one education to worry about. -more-


Questions About the Memorial Stadium Oak Grove

By Doug Buckwald
Thursday June 12, 2008 - 10:53:00 AM

With the judge’s decision imminent in the lawsuits over the university’s plan to cut down the Memorial Stadium oak grove and build a gymnasium/office complex at the site, the atmosphere is crackling with tension—or is that just the wind rustling through the leaves? It has been one and a half years since this issue leapt onto the local and national stage with a dramatic Big Game tree-sitting protest, and the conflict remains as compelling to this day. There are some persistent questions that have remained in my mind over this period of time, and I want to present them to your readers in the hope of creating a safe atmosphere to engage in a reasonable discussion of the conflict over the proposed construction in the oak grove. -more-