Arts & Events

Press Release: PEN Oakland Awards

From Kim McMillion
Wednesday December 08, 2010 - 10:09:00 AM

The 20th Annual PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles National Literary Awards will take place on Saturday, December 11, 2010, at the Oakland Public Library, Rockridge Branch, 5366 College Avenue from 2 to 5 p.m. The ceremony, which will be followed by a reception and book signings, is free and open to the public. Former state Senate President Pro Tem Don Perata will be the keynote speaker. PEN Oakland, founded in 1989, is a chapter of PEN International, founded in 1921. Dubbed "the blue collar PEN" by the New York Times, PEN Oakland annually sponsors the PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Book Awards, named for the late poet and faculty member of U.C. Berkeley's English Department. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the awards. 
 Each year PEN Oakland presents an award to outstanding book titles published in the previous year.  

The 2010 PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Literary Award winners are: (for books published in 2009)


Clifton Ross. Translations from Silence: New and Selected Poems. Freedom Voices. (poetry) 

Elizabeth Nunez. Anna In-Between. Akashic Press. (fiction) 

Etel Adnan. Master of the Eclipse. Interlink Publishing Group. (fiction) 

Manuel Ruben Delgado. The Last Chicano. Authorhouse Publications. (memoir) 

Andrena Zawinski. Something About. Blue Light Press/First World Publishing. (poetry) 

Maria Espinosa. Dying Unfinished. Wings Press. (fiction/memoir) 

Mitch Horowitz. Occult America: The Secret History of How Mysticism Shaped Our Nation. Bantam. (non-fiction) 

Ivan J. Houston. Black Warriors: The Buffalo Soldiers of World War II: Memories of the Only Negro Infantry Division to Fight in Europe. iUniverse. (non-fiction) 

Journalist Richard Prince is the winner of the 2010 Censorship Award. 

Satirist Paul Krassner and the late author and publisher Vance Bourjaily will each receive Lifetime Achievement Award.