Arts & Events

Press Release: 2011 Berkeley Arts Festival
July 12 – August 14

Thursday June 23, 2011 - 02:20:00 PM

This year’s BAF venue is 2133 University Ave, Berkeley,CA.

Every year the volunteer-driven Berkeley Arts Festival commandeers a vacant retail space in downtown Berkeley for an extraordinary month of music, arts, activist and literary offerings. A dormant, often badly in need of renovation space – past years have included historic banks, UC Berkeley office space, and the former Edy’s Coffee Shop – is transformed into an art gallery and a concert hall, complete with carefully chosen grand piano and state of the art Meyer Sound system. This year’s edition is snugly tucked between two venerable downtown Berkeley institutions: Long Life Veggie House and Ace Hardware.

Because the use of these spaces is donated, and they are often in a state of ownership transition and/or construction, the “lead time” of the festival, when publicity can be generated, is typically very short. We rely on word of mouth, and friends forwarding our schedule to their friends.

Berkeley Arts Festival Schedule:July 12-August 14, 2011 

Tues. July 12, Festival Opening Sarah Cahill, piano concert, 8 pm 

Wed. July 13, Dan Plonsey "New Monstrosities in Jazz" quintet, 8 pm 

Fri. July 15, Jerry Kuderna, piano concert, 8 pm 

Sat. July 16, FPR: Phillip Greenlief, Frank Gratkowski and Jon Raskin 8 pm 

Tues. July 19, Jerry Kuderna, piano--noon concert 

Thurs. July 21, Beep and The Holly Martins , 8 pm 

Sun. July 24, Patti Deuter, piano concert, 4 pm 

Mon. July 25, Sarah Cahill, piano concert, 8 pm 

Tues. July 26, Jerry Kuderna, piano--noon concert 

Fri. July 29, Upsurge Jazz/Poetry, 8 pm 

Sat, July 30, Rachel Durling/James Carmichael, violin, piano, 8 pm 

Tues. August 2, Jerry Kuderna, noon concert 

Wed. August 3, Philippa Kelly, book reading, 8 pm 

Thurs. August 4, Luciano Chessa, 8 pm 

Sat. August 6, Theresa Wong, cello, 8 pm 

Tues. August 9, Jerry noon concert 

Tues. August 9, Dylan Mattingly and friends, 8 pm 

Wed. August 10, Lisa Mezzacappa, Bait & Switch + Bait & Switch Dream Octet, 8 pm 

Thurs. August 11, Adam Tendler, piano, 8 pm 

Fri. August 12, Phillip Greenlief Lost Trio, 8 pm 

Sat. August 13, Dean Santomieri, 8 pm 

Sun. August 14, India Cooke/Bill Crossman, violin, piano, 4 pm 


for more information check the dates at